How to start

So you want to set up an altar of your own….

First rule: There are no rules.  Every altar is different and should be supremely personal to whomever created it.  Any place can function as your altar.  It doesn’t have to be fancy or elaborate; it can be tucked away where no one sees it but you (I think that’s actually preferable — that way you can incorporate whatever you want without fear of judgment).  Empty glove box, make it your altar.  Free shelf in your cupboard or bathroom cabinet, make it your altar. That little patch of grass in your backyard or flower box, make it your altar. You get the picture.

What you’ll need:

  1. A reason or purpose for creating your altar.  Once again, there are no rules for how to do this.  Many people like the ritual of writing down their intentions and creating a prayer or mantra that symbolizes their desire.  If that helps you, great.  If that seems daunting, forget it. Whatever you want to honor, achieve, memorialize, or even simply remember is fair game.   If you’re stuck, here are just a few ideas:
    • Financial Freedom (this is always a popular one)
    • Obtaining a better, improved or new relationship/job
    • Quitting an unwanted addiction or destructive behavior
    • Improved health for yourself/a loved one/pet
    • Honoring your ancestors/personal heroes/role models
    • In remembrance of a particularly happy or significant event
    • World Peace
    • Your favorite holiday/season/color
    • In celebration of your own creativity/talents
    • To boost your self-esteem/body image
    • To connect to your guardian angels/guides/spirit animals
    • In homage to letting go of a difficult loss or overcoming a long-held obstacle
    • Just because
  2. Pick your place.  A lot of people who are serious about symbolism and doing things the “proper” way consult a feng shui expert or align their altar based on the cardinal direction (north, south, east, west) that governs the category they best fits their intended subject matter.  In my world… you pick the place that feels right to you.  Choose a spot (regardless of how large or small) that you’ll feel comfortable visiting.  If you’re worried about what your friends or family will think, pick a place that’s cozy and not usually seen by anyone but you. You can even make a portable altar using something as simple as a shoe box.
  3. Choose what you’re going to put on your altar.  This is the fun part.  Again, don’t over think things. Pick items that appeal to you or that you feel drawn to. They don’t have to be literal symbols that represent your goal. As an example, I have a small ancestor altar in my work room. If you were to ask a stranger what they thought the altar represented I’m sure “ancestors” would NOT be what they’d say. There are no actual photos of my relatives, instead I have things that symbolize and remind me of them.  My paternal grandmother was a true artist at crocheting and knitting; to represent her I incorporated a piece she crocheted for me when I was in college.  My maternal great-grandfather was a world-traveler and a true adventurer; in his honor I chose a jaw bone that I found while on a safari in Tanzania.  I wanted to also include myself so I chose a Mexican Dia de los Muertos figure that my mom gave me as a birthday gift.  All these things may sound really strange, but to me they have a ton of significance.  When I stop in front of my altar I feel an immediate connection to everyone I’ve chosen to honor.
  4. Put your altar to work.  Now that you’ve created your masterpiece, put it to work. Ideally, your new sacred space should bring you a sense of happiness and peace whenever you see it.  Hopefully you’ll feel compelled to spend a few moments every day (or whenever possible) meditating on whatever it was that you chose to honor.  In doing this, your goal should stay at the front of your mind and become something you consciously choose to include in your life.

That’s it. Now, go create!

 

 

Leave a comment